The Beat & Little Magazine Collection
The Beat Poetry and Little Magazine Collection, a gift from the Marie Eccles Caine Foundation is also housed in this area. An important collection, it chronicles the "Beat Movement" in American literature and history through primary sources including over 2300 books and pamphlets, 1400 Beat magazines, 150 anthologies and approximately 35 broadsides and posters. This core collection was later joined by a second gift from the Caine Foundation: the "Little Magazine" collection which extends and compliments the first, larger collection. The library continues to add Beat materials as they become available. The present collection already contains over 5,000 annotated items. Beat materials generally do not circulate but can be accessed in the Art Book Room. The Beat collection includes a selection of AV materials that do circulate.
Providence, R. I.
PS 3569 .I47235 K56
Paperbound in decorative stapled wraps . Cover art by Claude Royet-Journoud. First edition . One of 400 copies. INSCRIBED on half-title page: "for Clark & Susan, Toward an ever closer ear to the little ones / love, Joey." According to the publisher's blurb: "Joseph Simas defamiliarizes our recognition of language's representation of emotions & ideas. A child's point of view, juxtaposed with a clinical perspective, enable us to encounter the enchanting discoveries & fears of childhood."
Full Court Press
PS 3529 .H28 A6
Paper, trade edition, bound in navy blue wrappers with grey & white typography. First edition. 228pp, ERRATA SLIP laid in. Preface by Ron Padgett. Introduction by Joe LeSueur [ For 10 years, Joe LeSueur was Frank O’Hara’s roommate and lover, but since 1951 until Frank’s untimely death in 1966, they were friends and confidantes.] Several of these mostly brief dramatic works are collaborations with Larry Rivers, Kenneth Koch, Frank Lima, Bill Berkson, etc. Also features some comedic burleques. Includes an Appendix with facimile documents.
Diary of a Non-Deflector: Selected Poems
PS 3554 .I475 D5
Paper, perfect bound in slick, illustrated wraps decorated with a self-portrait etching by Dine. Poems written by the important Pop Art pioneer during a "temporary rejection of art and painting in an attempt to redefine his vision through words" [-from the publisher's introduction-] and drawn both from WELCOME HOME LOVEBIRDS and various other sources. Edition limited to 120 copies.
Black Sparrow Press
PS 3555 .S5 A8
Paperbound. Poetry First edition. One of 1000 copies. Attractive production by the poet who edited the literary magazine CATERPILLAR. With 24 poems, a commentary and 1 b/w photo. Illustration.
PR 9199.3 .G24 W4
Paper bound, printed in with black type. Collects her first three books of poems: 'book of practical knowledge' (1969); 'guns of the west' (1967) & 'hochelaga' (1970). Includes illustrations (mostly xerox work) from the original editions. Maxine Gadd was born in England on November 12, 1940, just outside of London. She has been publishing poetry since the early 60s in small mags. Her first book, 'guns of the west' was published by bill bissett's blewointment press in 1967.
PS 3552 .E7248 E5
Paperbound in tan, printed and illustrated wraps. First edition. Unpaginated. . Cover and internal drawings by Philip Guston. One of 1000 copies.
Over the Stage of Kansas
PS 3566 .L95 O846
Paper, staple-bound in stiff, blue-grey wrappers. Cover illustrated with an eagle-airplane collage by Plymell. First edition Unpaginated. One of 500 copies. LAID IN: white index card with handwritten "Review Copy" in black ink. Also, LAID IN: Handsome colored flyer from Telephone Books / City Lights [approx. 10 x 14in.] folded with illustrations printed in blue/black/red; red-dotted printed paper. Inside features a collection of "blurbs" praising Charles Plymell by such luminaries as Allen Ginsberg, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, William S. Burroughs and others.
For the 82nd Airborne
Adventures in Poetry
PS 3552 .R697 F6
Paper, mimeo printed and side-staple-bound in glossy white cover designed by Bruce Erbacher featuring a military insignia in color. Poems printed on rectos only. Uncommon poetry title by the noted Lesbian novelist who later became well-known for her Science Fiction under the name "Rebecca Ore".
Alten Kran /// Olden Crane
OMI print number one
PR 6056 .R44 A48
Paper, two sheets, folded. Collage and text loosely laid in yellow cover (with crude Xerox of a mechanical crane front & back). Inside pages printed in red or black on white. Ulli Freer was born in Luneburg, Germany. He studied at Hornsey College of Art and the Open University. As a painter, performer and publisher he has been active during the last thirty years and has been widely published. Freer lives in London and works at the British Library.
Magazine/Dwyer, W. & Mazzaro
University of Detroit
Paperbound. Fresco: Volume One, Number Two/University of Detroit. With work by Cecil Hemley, Michael Benedikt, Robert Lowry, Flannary O'Connor, Paul Goodman, John Logan, William Belvin and "Orpheus. Eurydike. Hermes: A New Translation"
The Dainty Monsters
Coach House Press
PR 9199.3 .O5 D35
Paper, sewn sheets bound in plain black card covers with attached full color dust jacket. 77p., with frontis illustration. "Second Edition" (so stated to front flap of jacket), first in paper, issued in 1969 in an edition of 500 copies. The jacket, which duplicates the illustration found on the hardcover first edition, adds quotes from reviews of the book on the rear panel. The author's first book of poetry. In 1992 Ondaatje's novel "The English Patient" was awarded the Booker Prize. Ondaatje [b.1943, Sri Lanka] immigrated to Canada via England in 1962, and became a Canadian citizen in 1965. He attended the University of Toronto (BA) and Queen's (MA). In 1971 Ondaatje began teaching at York University. He received the Order of Canada in 1988.
PS 3553 .O57 B66
Paper, perfect bound, trade edition, bound in black, white & red illustrated wrappers. Illustrated with collages by Keith Waldrop. 48 pages. A landmark first-time collaboration between poet Clark Coolidge and writer/scholar/artist Keith Waldrop, 'Bomb' is a meditation on a book of photographs that document the Manhattan Project. Coolidge's thirty page poem begins with epigraphs by Democritus, Gregory Corso and Andre Breton/Paul Eluard, and continues in an elliptical, glancing narrative style that lucidly investigates a subject often too traumatic to consider directly -- the impact of the atomic bomb on our lives. Keith Waldrop's series of collages are literal reworkings of the original pictures: deep blacks and bright whites excavated from the book, remade here in the image of the poem.
San Francisco Blues (in 79 Choruses)
PS 3521 .E735 S36
Paper, staple bound in dark teal printed card wrappers. [56pp]; "First complete edition" published by Beat Books, one of 500 copies. With ink rule beneath stamped imprint rear, as issued. Includes Notes & Map of San Francisco downtown. Note on back cover states this was Kerouac's first book of poems, written in 1954, and published here for the first time. Jim Jones Collection.
Madras & New York
PN 1995 .F72
Miniature, paper-bound book in illustrated wrappers, black & white with gold foil lettering. Based on Frank's film of the same name (produced in 1990), this tiny book is mainly a transcription of the film's dialogue along with two pages of credits: half a dozen production or crew workers and 27 actors.
Gay Sunshine Interview: Allen Ginsberg with Allen Young
Grey Fox Press
PS 3513 .I74 Z95
Paper, bound in bright yellow wrappers. Originally published in Gay Sunshine, issue #16 (January 1973).Introduction by Young.
Impossible Dreams: A Novel
Alice James Poetry Cooperative
PS 3558 .I43
Paperbound with illustrated paper wraps. Black & white photographs (lent to the author & enhanced) throughout. Photo of author with family on back cover. Hill, an American born in Kentucky, lived in France at the time this book was published. In her work, Pati Hill explores the possibilities of printmaking using photocopy machines to complement her writing.
Manhood: A Journey From Childhood Into the Fierce Order of Virility
North Point Press
PQ 2623 .E424 Z52
Paperbound in illustrated white glossy wrappers. Jacket cover features an illustration of "Jucrece and Judith" by Lucas Cranach the Elder. Translated by Richard Howard of " L'age d'homme". Includes bibliographical references. A somewhat strange journey of self discovery by a noted French author and poet associated with the Surrealist group. A circulating copy of this book is available in the main library collection.
Notebook Number Twenty-Three
Mason, Mason Jordan
n.p.[Ranches of Taos, NM?]
Taos, New Mexico?
Paper, Stapled in stiff wrapers covered with newsprint pages -- from magazine? Silver paper label pasted on front panel. Editor's note on title page by J. C. Crews: "As nearly as possible I have presented these poems just as they came from the writer's hand…" Page  reproduces "Handwriting on the Wall from my friend Henry Miller," apparently a photocopy of a Miller MS (topic is a visit to the morgue). Ex Library Univ. of California, San Diego.
Avant Garde, Inc.
New York, New York
Paperbound, square format magazine. Nos. 1-13 (1968-71) of 14 Numbers. Contains The Marilyn Monroe Trip, a portfolio of serigraphic prints by Bert Stern. A portfolio of erotic lithographs by John Lennon. Picasso's erotic gravures. Monumental portfolio of photographs, etc. A near complete collection of Ginzburg's 60's underground bi-monthly magazine. (Lots of color). Library has Numbers 1-6, 12 & 13 as single issues (Gift, Barre Toelken) and bound numbers 6-9 and 10-13.
PR 6052 .R615 F4
Paperbound in printed blue on yellow wrappers. One of the first edtion of 1000 copies. Cover design and illustrations by Mal Dean. First publication by the author.
PQ 4862 .E4457 T7
Paper, chapbook pamphlet, loose signatures sewn with thick black thread into tan wrappers illustrated in black and red. Printed in the hand writing of the poets; in English and Spanish; a first edition. One of 550 copies; SIGNED & inscribed on recto: "for Gary at the end of the dust season 1974, with love Franco." Text by Franco Beltrametti; drawings by Piero Resta and backlights" by Joanne Kyger.
From Skin to Soul: Poems
PS 3558 .A68 F9
Hardcover, in green boards, no-dustjacket. Title wood cut by Eleanor Dalton; (printed in orange ink.) Design by Roy Grace & Stuart Dwork. This book was printed by the typography class of the Cooper Union Art School at the Ram Press.
19 Masks for the Naked Poet
Santa Cruz, California
PS 3573 .I444 A613
Paperbound. Folded and stapled decorated wrappers - lavender/gray pages. lllustrated by Regina Shekerjian; precedes 1st hardback. First Edition. Early book of poetry from winner of the Newberry and Caldecott Awards. One of 1200 copies.
The Alternative Society: Essays from the Other World
Herder and Herder
PS 3535 .E923 A16
Cloth with dust jacket. First Edition. 8vo - over 7?" - 9?" tall. Clean tight text. Collects fifteen essays, including "Disengagement: The Art of the Beat Generation", and several others on the state of American poetry including: Black Writers, Urbanism, Poetry and Money, Who is Alienated from What? The Demagogic Process, Back to the Sources of Literature, Facing Extinction, etc.
The Archive Newsletter
Magazine / M. Davidson (ed.)
Archive for New Poetry, University of California, San Diego / Univ. Librar
La Jolla Calif.
Archive Newsletter, Fall 1976. Two-page single stapled 8 1/2 x 11 sheets, one white / one pink. Mimeographed.