FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection
Folk Coll 11 is Utah State University's cowboy poetry collection. The collection, originally created
by a generation donation by the L. J. and Mary Skaggs Foundation, includes books gathered
during a fieldwork project in the early 1980s to document cowboy poetry in the U.S. west (see Folk
Coll 11f). From this important fieldwork project came the impetus for the first Cowboy Poetry Gathering held in
January 1985 in Elko, Nevada. Since that time, each January, the Fife Folklore Archives staff take the collection
and Access database (that details each book, poem, author, first line and key words), to the National Cowboy Poetry
Gathering for offsite use. Through University purchases and generation donations from poets and collectors, this collection continues to grow.
Book Title
Composer
Call #
Pages
Author
Poem Title
First Lines
Keywords
Just More Thinking
FC 11 S-69
13
Georgie Connell Sicking
To Be A Top Hand
When I was a kid and doing my best to Learn ways of our land, I thought mistakes were never made by A real top hand.
Rhymes of a Rancher
FC 11 G-13
56
E.A.L. Griffin
The Abandoned Stock Ranch
I came by there at the close of day and drew my horse's rein.
past, memories, history
Songs from the Sage Brush
FC 11 P-03
17
Katherine Fall Pettey
The Prospector's Toast
I've struck it rich an' I should be so happy? The drinks is up to me fer all around?
Melodious Poems From the Hills
FC 11 B-58
35
Sandia Bill
The Eternal Question
They say there's a God. Is it so? My answer is, I do not know. Where must I go when I leave here? My answer is, I do not care.
Buckaroo Ballads
FC 11 B-04
123
S. Omar Barker
Code of the Cow Country
It don't take sech a lot o' laws.
law, cowboy code, cowboy way, respect women, a man's word, man
A Living Tradition -- South Dakota Songwriters Songbook Volume 1
George B. German Music Archives
FC 11 G-02
12
unknown
Teaching Public School
If a body meets a lassie comin' down the street, with her dinner pail a swingin', lookin' nicely neat.
Cowboy Stuff: Some of the Poems by Jody Sixkiller
FC 11 W-16
15
Jody Sixkiller Whitlock
How the Cowboy got a Wife
I remember the day the boss rode away
Buckaroo Ballads
FC 11 B-04
42
S. Omar Barker
The Up-to-Date Cow-Puncher
Oh, the wind she's a-blowin' off Lone Tree Flat; With a whimperin' wail that's fearful, And the coyotes yelpin' their devil's chat; In the sage brush ain't right cheerful.
cowpuncher, loneliness, lonely, radio
Cowboy Poetry: Classic Rhymes & Prose by D.J. O'Malley, The N Bar Kid White
Janice and Mason Coggin
FC 11 O-06
28
D.J. O'Malley
The Cowboy's Reverie
Tonight as I rode 'round the cattle.
Cowboy Poetry: Cloud Watchers
FC 11 F-16
74
Rolf M. Flake
Cow Buyers
Cow buyers are a different bunch-- A different breed of cat. They're "cautious speculators" to say the least I'm sure we'll all vouch for that. When the market's up they're nder every bush When it's down they're hard to find-- But if the market's steady, they're steady too-- At least that gives us some peace of mind.
Cowboys And Kids
FC 11 C-61
33
Jo Casteel
How To Talk More Southern
I met a little Southern peach with eyes so big and brown. I met her at a rodeo in a little Georgia town. She had eyes that batted lashes
fate, communicate, tar, tire, daints, cat
The Code Of The West - Then, Now, Forever -
FC 11 B-68
9
Don Bishop
The Remuda
When the Cattle Drive era began, the great buffalo herds were disappearing, Indian wars were raging, and two million mustangs ran wild in the West.
The Nevada Cowboy's Album of Songs
Republic Features Syndicate, Inc.
FC 11 T-13
14
Dallas Turner (Nevada Slim), Arranger
Fair and Tender Ladies
Look out for fair and tender ladies
Some Stuff I've Learnt And Other Stuff
FC 11 H-61
146
Greg Harwood
Our Own Herd
Ole Jim and I were out of work
wild cattle
More Hilarious Happenings and Other Cowboy Poetry
FC 11 M-63
46
E.W. "Roy" Miller
Vegetarians??
In most parts of the country, they raise barely, wheat and rye; Oats and corn and sorgum, and now I'll tell you why! But then there's also other grains,
heifers, tractor, bunks, bloat, cattle eat, lettuce, Arizona
City Cattle: Humorous Western Political Satire
FC 11 J-06
16
Derwin J. Jeffries
Internal Revenue - "Service?"
"Now just what is this `service' bit?"
Taxes, government, corruption, politicians, IRS
Confessions of a cowboy poet: The complete works of Bob Christensen, to date (in
FC 11 C-52
16
Bob Christensen
Pardners
Two buckaroos, real pardners true, were rounding up some strays.
What I Learned On the Way to Life: Insights and Concepts learned along the way..
FC 11 J-15
71
Hans "Jake" Jeppson
Self Pity and Reality
Sometimes when life just feels too damned rough
Dry Crik Review: Summer 1992
John C. Dofflemyer
FC 11 D-20
8
Shadd Piehl
Dakota Highways
Midnight grins a wide open moon. they sky glows on another night spent cramped in a car, going down the road. To a rodeo on the reservation
race, Missouri, celebration, lights, clouds
Burnt Leather
FC 11 H-16
103
Jack Horan
Drifting
Out of a job an' you're drifting.
work, employment, unemployment, shelter, cow camp
Waiting for the Pear to Fall
FOLK COLL 11 D-29
28
Richard M Dunalp
Close Encounters (of the Bovine Kind)
It was late, one hot, July evening, Just as the sun was laying. When I noticed my cattle were covered with flies. So I decided to give them a spraying.
duck, calf, conflict, barn
Melodious Poems From the Hills
FC 11 B-58
59
Sandia Bill
A Summer Night
The day with all its labor Has vanished out of sight, And the scenes that still linger Have put my cares to flight.
Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works
Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill
FC 11 B-11
144
Layle Bagley
Remembering
I've had the privilege of ranching, And having some cows of my own.
One Cowboy's Faith, Family and Friends
FOLK COLL 11 M-74
57
Roy R Moore Jr
Riding the Pony Express
This is a story of orphan teenage boys In the spring of eighteen sixty Ridin' from St. Louis to Sacramento and back Makin' an imprint in Western History
mail, orphan, history, bible
A Cowful of Cowboy Poetry
FC 11 B-43
157
Baxter Black
Toast
It gives me great pleasure to stand here today.