FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection
29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"Book Title
Composer
Call #
Pages
Author
Poem Title
First Lines
Keywords
The Lonesome Cowboy Songs of the Plains and Hills
FC 11 W-20
30
John White and George Shackley
Deep Water
You promised to meet me down by the spring
The Lonesome Cowboy Songs of the Plains and Hills
FC 11 W-20
32
John White and George Shackley
The Cowboy's Dream
Last night as I lay on the prairie and look'd at the stars in the sky
The Lonesome Cowboy Songs of the Plains and Hills
FC 11 W-20
36
John White and George Shackley
The Little Old Sod Shanty
I am looking rather seedy now while holding down my claim
The Lonesome Cowboy Songs of the Plains and Hills
FC 11 W-20
40
John White and George Shackley
Home On The Range
Oh, give ma a home where the buffalo roam
L
Land Circle: Writings Collected from the Land
FC 11 H-43
174
Linda M. Hasselstrom
Valentine's Night
You didn't like Valentine's Day, going to the mall to find a card among fake flowers.
Land Circle: Writings Collected from the Land
FC 11 H-43
168
Linda M. Hasselstrom
Pennies for luck
A heron flaps upstream, the color of fog over the river, the bridge throbs under my tires
Land Circle: Writings Collected from the Land
FC 11 H-43
164
Linda M. Hasselstrom
Windbreak now
My book about our life together filled two hundred thirty-three closely-spaced pages.
Land Circle: Writings Collected from the Land
FC 11 H-43
153
Linda M. Hasselstrom
Old Friends
They came until the halls bulged, the air trembled with balloons and flowers.
Alvin Taylor and cowdogs
FC 11 H-38, no. 4 (2 copies)
Drum Hadley
Alvin Taylor and cowdogs
It used to be cowboys would talk about horses doin some pretty unusual things, Vernie Taylor says, but since cow dogs have come to this country, now it's dogs.
A Cowboy in town
FC 11 H-38, no. 3 (2 copies)
Drum Hadley
A Cowboy in town
Well Stan Hall is kind of a polite, quiet man, a fine cowboy with a good steady job, and a wife and three good kids.
Gene Autry's Collection of Juke Box, Radio and Movie Hits
Western Music Publishing Company
FC 11B NO. 32
Gene Autry and Johnny Marvin
Smokey and the bird watcher
FC 11 H-38, no. 2 (2 copies)
Drum Hadley
Smokey and the bird watcher
There's a bird watcher silently stalkin' up the canyon trying to catch a glimpse of an elusive migratory bird
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
1
Eugene N. Cayton
The Cowboy
Up before dawn an' away an' gone.
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
5
Eugene N. Cayton
Concerning' of Hats
I'd about wore out my ol' bonnet.
Stetson, Laloo, hat
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
9
Eugene N. Cayton
A-Burnin' of the Cholla and the Pear
On a ranch thar's lots of work.
cows, cactus, mesquite
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
12
Eugene N. Cayton
My Porter Catalog
When my hoss is fed an' I have e't.
catalog, saddles, boots, western, supply
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
22
Eugene N. Cayton
The Buildin' of Spurs
Start a f're in the forge thar.
forge, steel spurs, boots
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
26
Eugene N. Cayton
Ropin' A-Foot
Now a ol' cowboy, when he's ketchin' a hoss.
rope, loop, horse, excuses
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
30
Eugene N. Cayton
The Outlaw
Thar's a hardened ol' outlaw that I once knowed.
stole, robbed, criminal, career
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
36
Eugene N. Cayton
East an' West
"The ol' west is dead."
cowboy, city, past, by-gone, motor
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
39
Eugene N. Cayton
Great Men
Oh the cattle was bedded down fer the night.
song, fire, hero, clan, father, ol' man, dad, pa, store-keep, work, kids, provide
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
45
Eugene N. Cayton
Nez's Lollipop
The moon has climbed the canyon wall.
lollipop, moon, cactus, sky, sweethearts, desert, romance, dreaming, fancies
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of PoemsRidin' by the Fire
FC 11 C-29
47
Eugene N. Cayton
The Preacher's Son
We'd been branding calves; In the brand my calves wear.
branding, calves, language, dad, balance, preach, good, profane, cussing, home on high, many trails
Ridin' by the Fire: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 C-29
52
Eugene N. Cayton
The Cowboy's Revenge
Cinch on a hull an' ride like a gale.
change, revenge, improvements, wild,