FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection
29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"Book Title
Composer
Call #
Pages
Author
Poem Title
First Lines
Keywords
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
33
Frank Carpenter
New Hats
Three refined suburban gentlemen.
store, hats, gathering, cowboys, convention, identities, secret
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
34
Frank Carpenter
Partner
I set out to build an outfit.
partner, era, dynasty, Lazy C 3
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
35
Frank Carpenter
Passing It Down
I remember those happy days.
mother, son, daddy, dad, cowboy, freedom, common sense, life
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
36
Frank Carpenter
Quiet Confidence
I have a quiet confidence.
she, security, love, home, partner, friend, light, guides
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
37
Frank Carpenter
The Saddle's Lament
Cowboyin' ain't all glory.
saddle, leather, glory, praise, riging, intimate, rump, caboose, fat can, raw end, deal
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
39
Frank Carpenter
Satisfaction
The day is over, the work is done.
setting sun, evening, day, cowboy, work, rich, satisfaction, pay
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
40
Frank Carpenter
Shrub Poke
He was a different kind of rancher.
rancher, shrub, earns, living, cows, plants
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
41
Frank Carpenter
Solitude
Oh, to rise ere break of day.
morning, daybreak, break of day, slumber, sleep, divine, quiet, world
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
42
Frank Carpenter
The Spirit of the West
There is something very special.
feel, spirit, peace, wonder, humility, pride, stories, songs, poems, land, cowboy, nature, blessing, outdoors, God, inspiration
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
44
Frank Carpenter
Stampede
The herd was crowded in the pen.
herd, restless, stampede, seat, poetry show
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
45
Frank Carpenter
Stage Fright
It is every Western poet's dream.
western poet, reciting, read, bard, verse, stage fright, lie, rhyme, poem
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
47
Frank Carpenter
Swarm
I did a turn at working.
hive, bumble bee, sting, battle, behind, fright
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
49
Frank Carpenter
The Tale of Tailholt Tom (The Horse Who Hated Hogs)
I've no notion of his breed.
Sorrel, horse, gentle, crazy, trust, animal, hog pens, fence, barbed wire
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
51
Frank Carpenter
Timber
Carl caught me long ago.
tree, fell, timber, Carl
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
52
Frank Carpenter
The Trail's End
No more than a; Wide spot in the road.
memory, paradise, wandering, land, valley, friend, home
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
53
Frank Carpenter
Twister
The storm had raged for hours.
storm, demon, tornado, path, weather
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
54
Frank Carpenter
You Sat on My Hat
Just mindin' my own business.
bar, stool, hat, beat, kicked, fool
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
55
Frank Carpenter
The Wagon
Up the slope of the eastern Sierra.
oxen, wagon, prayer, pioneer, winter, California
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
56
Frank Carpenter
The Weaning Song
Today we weaned some heifers.
crying, bawling, baby calves, wailing, sleep, mournful, night, mother, dumb animals
The Caney Creek Collection
FC 11 C-32
57
Frank Carpenter
The Wild West
"Way back when... when the west was wild."
tale, story, father, fire, son, boy, cowboy song, sleep, memories
Old-Time Cowboy Songs
Hal Cannon
FC 11 C-34
1
William Douglas and Lady John Scott
Annie Laurie
Max Welton's braes are bonnie, Where early falls the dew.
promise, true, lay down and die, love, girl, Scottish
Old-Time Cowboy Songs
Hal Cannon
FC 11 C-34
2
Charles Badger Clark
A Bad Half Hour
Wonder why I feel so restless.
sleep, "Annie Laurie", night, guard, song, sing, love, married
Old-Time Cowboy Songs
Hal Cannon
FC 11 C-34
4
Delmore Brothers
Back to the Range
Ten years ago I left my home to be a city slicker.
city slicker, home, take me back, Pinto Pete, girl, longing
Old-Time Cowboy Songs
Hal Cannon
FC 11 C-34
6
Fred Keller
Blue Mountain
My home it was in Texas.
refuge, law, outlaw, Blue Mountain
Old-Time Cowboy Songs
Hal Cannon
FC 11 C-34
8
McGlennon ,Conley, Sayers
The Boaster (Gay Paree)
I've been in gay Paree.
Paree (Paris), jail, gambling, drinking, Chicago, Salt Lake, Mormon, school, war, fact, chicken, axe, Tootsie Fruitsie