FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection
29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"Book Title
Composer
Call #
Pages
Author
Poem Title
First Lines
Keywords
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
25
Dennis Gaines
Second Thoughts
Just one loop, that's all you'll get, you've waited for this chance.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
26
Dennis Gaines
Parson Braddock (Part 1 of 3)
As Parson Braddock he was known.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
31
Dennis Gaines
No Second Chance
Live it, boys, and love it! Father Time won't be forgivin'.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
34
Dennis Gaines
Cowboy Carousel
I reckon purt near every puncher's rode a horse like Boomer.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
37
Dennis Gaines
Dem Buckin' Bronco Blues
I guess Wrango Jim was fifty-four and crowdin' fifty-five.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
38
Dennis Gaines
A Price to Pay
A broken wire, a busted stay.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
44
Dennis Gaines
Attitude Adjustment
Three male critters of bovine expression, In the shade by the pasture fence.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
47
Dennis Gaines
The Day I Met Einstein
A dusty ol' shack, like a hundred before.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
52
Dennis Gaines
Old Settlers
The wind was her companion, While her husband rode the canyons.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
54
Dennis Gaines
Self-Reliance
Self-reliance is the creed and the hallmark of the breed.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
56
Dennis Gaines
The Journey of Three-Fingered Jack
Disillusioned, disappointed, and despairing though my climb has just begun.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
66
Dennis Gaines
Saturday Reflections
It's quiet in the bunkhouse, all the evening chores are done.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
69
Dennis Gaines
Scorpion Dance
The Bar K bunkhouse chimney smoke was lazy driftin' 'round.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
72
Dennis Gaines
Old and Honored
Like a racehorse waiting for the signal to explode.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
76
Dennis Gaines
Buzzard Buffet
Eyeballs, brains and possum butts, soured grain in horse's guts.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
77
Dennis Gaines
Shufflin' Sam McGraw
It was at the Old Man's Rodeo they cornered Sam Mcgraw.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
80
Dennis Gaines
The Preacher and the Man Who Wouldn't Talk
Shadow peaks creep silent 'cross the unsuspecting plain.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
89
Dennis Gaines
No Stayin' Sense
You musta fixed this water-gap at least a dozen times.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
90
Dennis Gaines
Howard and the Snake
Gather 'round, boys, an' I'll tell ya a tale.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
91
Dennis Gaines
Yes, Ma'am, I Ride Horses
I was in town to fetch the mail one day.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
97
Dennis Gaines
Song of the Brasada
He felt it then, and shivered.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
103
Dennis Gaines
Cowpunchin' for Kodak
Through the trials and the tears of a hundred-odd years.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
105
Dennis Gaines
Pardners
I' God, Bill, you're lookin' prosperous in your bran' new Sunday suit.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
108
Dennis Gaines
A Saddle and a Dream
You thought that you might hold me, but who can seize the wind.
New Tradition: Western Verse: A Collection of Poems
FC 11 G-20
110
Dennis Gaines
Nasty Jack and Ol' Nuthin'
Lord, I dearly love life in the saddle!