FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection

29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"

Book Title

Composer

Call #

Pages

Author

Poem Title

First Lines

Keywords

Ballads of the Poison Oak

FC 11 K-18

Jack Killam

Spareribs

I live in Lyons Valley, where the grub cannot be beat.

Ballads of the Poison Oak

FC 11 K-18

Jack Killam

Honor to Whom Honor is Due

A man may live and labor so valiantly and well.

Ballads of the Poison Oak

FC 11 K-18

Jack Killam

Poets

They tell me you're a poet.

Ballads of the Poison Oak

FC 11 K-18

Jack Killam

Bottles

I was born 'way down in Texas, there I heard my crib-song sung.

Buckaroo Ballads

FC 11 B-04

S. Omar Barker

Pinto

The sunset's paintin' pintos out of gray and sorrel peaks, Brown mesas shows a touch of red and blue.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

151

Lyle Bagley

39 Cent Chicken

Most things are hard to remember, I almost always forget.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Marie W. Smith

A Cowboy's Christmas

I'd been workin' down in China Creek, Punchin' them Texas steers.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

186

Jean A. Mathisen

A Friendly Warning

Say what you will on many things, but don't pick on my hat.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

187

Ron Parish

A Lonely Cowboy Kiss

I was up around at sunup, as Cowboys mostly are.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

101

Ham Hamilton

A Man from Chicken Springs

A man rode in from Chicken Springs who looked as hard as the ride.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dorothy Wheeler

A Shortened Tail

Once my Dad had a bright idea; When my brother and I were ten and eight.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

184

Jean A. Mathisen

A Wild Soul

Aint no way to describe a cowboy -- You just know 'em when you see'em.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

211

Phil Kennington

A Young Cowboys Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving day's a comin' up at least that's what I hear.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Mildred Michel

All But Me

Since early years, things have changed a bit.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Stacey Sue

Away Out Yonder

Have you ever spent the night with a saddle under your head.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Louis Mecham

Bear Creek Rose

Nobody knows who planted the rose, And nobody knows why it still grows.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Janet Spencer

Bless This Steak

Cattle are such stupid creatures; With very few redeeming features.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

210

Phil Kennington

Blue Bell

Now Arson was a gentleman, a high class sorta guy.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

185

Jean A. Mathisen

Born of Independence

We were born of independence in the howling of the wind.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

205

Phil Kennington

Brand New Shot Gun Chaps

We was headin toward the home ranch; Gathering cattle every day.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Marie W. Smith

Buck

There have always been times; When things were tough.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elizabeth "Buzzy" Vick

Buckles and Buns Beneath the Big Sky

Why is the cowboy so appealing?

Western Poems

FC 11 R-02

Col. Charles D. Randolph "Buckskin Bill"

The Covered Wagon

The bravest of all over heroes.

Rambler's Notebook: 50 Years of Scribblin': Songs & Poems from the Road

FC 11 A-16

Singin' Sam Agins

The Ballad of Jake Brake Bill

Jake Brake Bill had a date with Merline on this cold, foggy October night.

Rambler's Notebook: 50 Years of Scribblin': Songs & Poems from the Road

FC 11 A-16

Singin' Sam Agins

Friendship Formula

When you find someone you can really talk to. When you find someone that likes just the things you do.