FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection

29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"

Book Title

Composer

Call #

Pages

Author

Poem Title

First Lines

Keywords

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dave Tingey

Dad's Old Saddlebags

Shortly after my Dad died, I went through his saddle bags.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Michel Mildred

Daisy

Daisy was her given name; A little wild, a little tame.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dorothy Wheeler

Day's End

Dear Lord, I'm not much on religion I know?

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

108

Buck Hafer

Disappointment

I got this brochure in the mail; It was addressed to me.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

146

Layle Bagley

Doc's Revenge

It used to be, when your body wore out, You were out of luck.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

107

Buck Hafer

First Job (Cowboy's Pride)

When I got my first job on a ranch.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

156

Cecil Jensen

First Plane Ride

These three cowboys, now just really two but another feller was settin close by.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

172

Hallace W. Harker

Flat Fix and Hot Air

There's an old cowboy who seldom comes around.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

116

Norma Weeks

Formula 4-0-9

The crowd had filled the arena.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

A. Honey

Forty Cents

I ain't got much money to jingle.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Janet Spence

Genuine Cowboy

He's a hairy horseback hunk of hide; A flea-bit bag of bones and pride.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

162

Roberta H. Green

Girlie the Mountain Men are About Gone!

He smelled a little gamey; His voice wavered when he talked.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

201

Enid W. Allred

Give a Man Enough Rope

I have been fascinated with a rope since I could stand.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

167

Ellie Corrigan

Happy Is

The gold rose of sunrise, the creak of used leather.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

167

Ellie Corrigan

Gunpowder and Calico

Gunpowder and Calico; Of pioneer cloth were torn.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

D.L. Welker

Have You Never?

If you've never rode a ridge-top, as the sun sets in the west.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

100

Ham Hamilton

Hay Meadow

My hay meadow is over five miles long and it follows a high flowing stream.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

198

Sam Mattise

Heaven

I've traveled many place, But don't ask me about the dates.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Don Kennington

Hey Daddy

"Do horses ever have tooth aches?"

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

203

Enid W. Allred

Hiteck

Do you know what it was like growing up years ago?

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

S.A. (Sam) Jackson

Home on the Range

Those who work away from home all need a place to dwell.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

194

Sam Mattise

Hometown Cowboy

He was just a Hometown Cowboy, His belly kinda' fat.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

110

Oral Elser

Hon

I would like to tell you about the highlight of my life.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Louis Mecham

Hoof Beat Became a Heart Beat

I don't remember when a hoof beat became the beat of my heart.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

D.L. Welter

Hunter's Warning

Have you ever climbed a mountain.