FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection

29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"

Book Title

Composer

Call #

Pages

Author

Poem Title

First Lines

Keywords

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elizabeth "Buzzy" Vick

Montana Game

The cowgirl scans him through her scope.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Colen H. Sweeten, Jr.

Mother Love and Momma Cows

Growing up on a ranch; Was a learning time for me.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

A. Honey

Murphy

He came into camp one night, Dressed in leather, black and vogue.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

140

Rees Butikofer

My Dad

I saw him walkin' down the road, by the tato patch today.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

143

Rees Butikofer

My Grand-dad

I remember now a man that no one knew too well.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elizabeth "Buzzy" Vick

My Mare, My Man and Me

I ran into the beauty shop just collapsed down on the chair.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

159

Terry Raff

My Name's Howard

I was late on a rain-soaked evening when he rode up to our camp.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

189

Ron Parish

My New Chaps

Before I start this tale of mine, there's stuff you need to know about this life I lead and how things sometimes go.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elsie (L.C.) Bowler Nielson

My Ole Mule

My old mule with eyes so brown, Act like a king when we went to town.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

217

Connie Packer

My True Love

The old cowboy sat on a ridge one day, Just watching the evening sun.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

183

Jean A. Mathisen

New West?

Rainbow teepees and cowboy boots.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

John W. Howell

Night Nature Call

We were in the hills a camping, enjoying ourselves you see.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Hug Whitt

Nine to Five

There's lots of folks with regular jobs that all work nine to five.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Colen H. Sweeten, Jr.

Old Riding Partners

My riding partners have all left me; I look around and all I see.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Don Kennington

Old Timers

Now I've got a great idea about a new event.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

S.A. (Sam) Jackson

On the Light Side

Ain't rained much here this summer, country's getting' pretty dry.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

148

Layle Bagley

One Horse/Cow Ranch

This here's quite a story, Bout a feller by the name of Jed.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Nadia Robertson

Pickin' Buckaroo

I knew this cowboy named Larry out Jordan Valley way.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

137

Dave Ball

Plastic Pony

It's for sure you saw him and never knew his name.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Wayne Nelson

Quarter Turn

A war hero from a Texas town; Up and married our sweet Jane.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

107

Buck Hafer

Quit Ranchin'

The wife and I quit ranchin'; About three years ago.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

169

Ellie Corrigan

Reflections

It's a "Soddy" in the twenties, Back up a crooked lane.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

144

Layle Bagley

Remembering

I've had the privilege of ranching, And having some cows of my own.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

214

Linda Merrill

Restless Soul

There was a boy just 16, Who thought he was a man.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Stacey Sue

Retouching

In the twilight of childhood the cowboy danced.