FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection

29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"

Book Title

Composer

Call #

Pages

Author

Poem Title

First Lines

Keywords

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Louis Mecham

Riding Horse to School

Tommy my brother and I rode double on a horse to school.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Naida Robertson

Romantic bull

I always was a city gal at least 'til I came West.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

215

Linda Merrill

Sandcastles

When I was a kid I'd play in the park, And if I could I'd stay until dark.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

105

Owen J. Barton

Satisfaction

There's sure a lot of satisfaction, When you start to getting old.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

218

Connie Packer

Satisfaction

Four cowboy poets went fishing, Out on the ocean deep.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

S.A. (Sam) Jackson

Self Portrait

There's a man I truly envy, for a talent that he has.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

118

Norma Weeks

Shirley's Roundup

Now, I work with the gal named Shirley, who got into a heck of a fix.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

208

Phil Kennington

Shoeing Ole' Cupcake

I just can't see too good now more; And my eyes are getting' frail.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Hilma Volk

Signs of Spring

The buttercups are pushing up; Through the patches of melting snow.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Wayne Nelson

Snowville

Snowville was an albino bull, a legend in his time.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dave Tingey

Spotted Fawn

Gather around boys and I'll tell you a tale, The way he told it to me down at Cutter's Well.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Mildred Michel

Strange Fellows, Fishermen

The life of a fisherman is strange indeed; As he seeks for places where fishes feed.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Mildred Michel

Strong Coffee

There was a farmer man; Who desired to have a change.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

102

Ham Hamilton

Style

My personal style of bull riding is sitting quietly on the fence.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

135

Charlene Schilling

Sweet Nellie

It was haymaking time in the valley, And I went home to put in my share.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

120

John Curtis

Table Meat

The terrible depression of the thirties was in full swing and we, a family of six boys and three girls were scratchin' out a living by panning gold in the Mother Lodes country of Shasta County, California.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

122

John H. Curtis

Thanks But No Thanks!

Beth was devastated when her dad died, She had to run her ranch all alone.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

163

Roberta H. Green

That Little Cowboy There

He was young and small and friendly; Freckled faced and tousled hair.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Jon Richins

The Accident?

Their nephew had started selling life insurance and practiced the pitch on them.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Hilma Volk

The Appaloosa Mare

They pulled up in a station wagon; Looking for a horse to buy.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Jon Richins

The Argument

Trouble had been brewin' all day, they couldn't keep from fightin' if they tried.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Jon Richins

The Boy's Problem

The kid was drivin' me nuts, trouble was his middle name.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

204

D.L. Welter

The Challenge

When you hear a distant bugle, but you can't quite hear the grunt.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

138

Dave Ball

The Cowboy and the Genie

Ol' Sam had enough of high plains cold, So one day he went scouting out where travel tickets were sold.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

207

Phil Kennington

The Cowboy and the Seagull

Now, the judge he wuzn't happy; When they brought the Cowboy in.