FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection

29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"

Book Title

Composer

Call #

Pages

Author

Poem Title

First Lines

Keywords

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

175

Hallace W. Harker

The Urban Cowboy

He was a meek young man so I heard, He'd read all about cowboys -- every word.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dave Tingey

The Wall

The old man stood staring at the wall, a tear ran down his cheek.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

132

Charlene Schilling

The Young Cowboy

Old Ben Laird, from the Crooked Bar S.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elizabeth "Buzzy" Vick

They Feed Their Own Horses Better

Real cowboys eat the strangest foods never taking time to dine.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elsie (L.C.) Bowler Nielsen

Time Was

Time was when I rode wild and reckless, Without a care to my name.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

126

Sharon Carlson

Tradition

I remember well, the day Dad left; The spreader parked right there.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

103

Owen J. Barton

Trail of Life

A man goes down the trail of life, Just one day at a time.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dave Tingey

Trail of Tears

I was talking to an old Grandma, And she was a hundred years old or so.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

153

Layle Bagley

Tribute to Cecil Jensen

As we progress through life, Some special people come our way.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

127

D.J. Badger

Tribute to the Working Cowboy

A Cowboy doesn't waste his time; With fancy grub or tools.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Elsie (L.C.) Bowler Neilsen

Waiting for the Dawn

Comes first light and we'll be moving out.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

219

Connie Packer

What Happened

The farmer was a faithful man, As honest and true as you'd find.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

126

Sharon Carlson

What is Country?

Just what is country; You might ask.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Hub Whitt

When the Night Hawk Hollered Horses

The old ways were the good ways when the men in leather rode.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

160

author unknown

Whose Old Cow?

'Twas the end of round-up, the last day of June, Or maybe July -- I don't remember.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

109

Buck Hafer

Why

Lord, you gave me two eyes to see with; You gave me two lips for to speak.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

157

Cecil Jensen

Winter Supplies

This story is about a friend of mine named Bill Woodard who lived above Jackson, Wyoming.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

104

Owen J. Barton

Wondering Where's Heaven

Riding a trail one moonlight night, Watching the twinkle of each shining star.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Dorothy Wheeler

Wronged

Willie's first job when he came west; Was in a wild cow town.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

Enid W. Allred

Yard Sale

A yard or garage sale is a gala affair; In summer they may crop up anywhere.

Sittin' and A-Grinnin': A Collection of Works

Layle Bagley & Linda Merrill

FC 11 B-11

125

Sharon Carlson

Yesteryear

Memories of yesteryear; Stand silently in Winter's snow.

A Bronco Pegasus

FC 11 L-14

145

Charles F. Lummis

A Sunset

We sat upon the Bosque's crest

A Bronco Pegasus

FC 11 L-14

145

Charles F. Lummis

My Meerschaums

'A host of meerschaums!' did you say?

A Bronco Pegasus

FC 11 L-14

148

Charles F. Lummis

A Breath of Boyhood

Beyond the clatter of the town

A Bronco Pegasus

FC 11 L-14

149

Charles F. Lummis

Helen

Lithe young Sphinx, whose very Youth