FOLK COLLECTION 11: The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Collection
29769 results found for "No Search Criteria Set"Book Title
Composer
Call #
Pages
Author
Poem Title
First Lines
Keywords
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
17
Jim Jennings
Bym and Jean
Bym and Jean once spent a summer.
Wyoming, range, riding, plains, children, girls, childhood, change, aging
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
19
Jim Jennings
Packin'
Gather round me all you waddies.
packing, mules, story, tale, Rockies, Rocky Mountains, packs, trail diamond hitch, rope
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
21
Jim Jennings
Trappin'
There's a little strip of Bad Lands just across the Yellowstone.
coyotes, coyote, trapper, trapping, hunt, west, tricks, tracks, tracking, footprints
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
23
Jim Jennings
Smokey
Guess I've always sorta like you.
horse, break, mountain lion, mustang, stirrup, foot, buckskin
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
25
Jim Jennings
When He Played On His Old Guitar
Let me tell you about a boy I knew.
guitar, music, branding, show, New York, radio program
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
27
Jim Jennings
When the Sun Goes Down
When the sun goes down out in the West.
love lost, wife, lover, child, home, family, mother, father, husband, death, son
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
29
Jim Jennings
Backer in His Eye
I was working on the Ladder.
ranch, work, New Mexico, cattle, New York, car, dude, shoot, mountain lion, chewing tobacco, chew, hunting, spit in eye, cat, fifty dollars, bet
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
33
Jim Jennings
My Lost Pal
She taught school on the Western plains.
love lost, wife, woman, death, sadness, loss, longing, roaming, running away, west, teacher
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
35
Jim Jennings
Braggin'
You've read so many stories.
bragging, hunter, gun, exaggeration, fish, fishing, tall tale, youth
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
37
Jim Jennings
Little Cowboy
Today little Jim rode with me over trails.
son, father, mother, family, sadness, death, love, child, trail, love lost, memories
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
39
Jim Jennings
Old Three Toes
An old coyote sat on a hill.
coyote, wildlife, howl, traps, New house trap, trapper, track
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
41
Jim Jennings
Sunset Dreams
`Member how we used to sit here.
love lost, wife, lonely, lonesome, longing, alone
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
42
Jim Jennings
Playin' Cupid
In a group that I was guidin'.
Tetons, girl, female, Jackson Hole, Wyoming, tour guide, love lost, lover's quarrel, honeymoon, child, naming, couple
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
44
Jim Jennings
Miss You
I miss you dear from day to day.
love lost, longing, wife, missing, death
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
45
Jim Jennings
Little Jim's Wish
I wish to gosh I had a pony.
Shetland pony, child, boy, boyhood, letter, father, dad
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
47
Jim Jennings
Ice Cream
We were camped upon the Rosebud.
dip, shindig, dance, party, piano, food, eating, ice cream freezer, theft
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
49
Jim Jennings
Doc and Me
Doc is old and wise in the ways.
doctor, aging, memories, youth, physician, broken bones, hospital, health, ailment, sickness
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
51
Jim Jennings
My Nurse
Don't look down at me with those eyes.
memories, smiles, eyes, happiness, past, voice, speak, fate hospital
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
52
Jim Jennings
Lies
Were you ever runnin' horses.
needle, shot, hospital, nurse, medication, pain, hurt
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
53
Jim Jennings
My Waterloo
I've ridden broncs from here to there.
hospital, bed pan, bedpan, nurse, demonstration
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
55
Jim Jennings
My Pals
I was layin' here day dreamin'.
boots, hospital bed, lying, convalescing, friends, trick, joke, powder, visitors, nurse, gossip, talk, visiting
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
58
Jim Jennings
The Xmas Card
`Twas Xmas eve and the lights were bright.
hospital, friends, Christmas card, mail, boss, K Bar L, birch bark, birch bark, spruce twig
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
59
Jim Jennings
Goin' Home
Well, I'm settled on the cushions.
going home, tuberculosis, sanitarium, TB, hospital
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
61
Jim Jennings
Loco
I'd been punchin' cows on the X Bar B.
dude ranch, dude wrangler, advertisement, locoweed, locoweed, east, west, easterner, female, woman
Tumble Weed: A Collection of Verse
FC 11 J-02
63
Jim Jennings
The Flying U
Back home again on the Flying U.
home, wildlife, dreams, memories, past, boyhood, youth, flowers, love lost